Best Beach body workouts for Wedding/Pool Season

bridal workout

Through Social Media, I see lots of posts questioning which Beach Body workout set is the best. I have always answered my opinion on these questions since we now own many of them. I feel like my opinion always shifted based on the next “new” one that arrived, however, after realizing lately how my body hasn’t changed I feel like my opinions were wrong. Before reading this just know this is based strictly on my opinion: a 5’3 female who ranges in the 108-116lb range. There is one other main thing that is my workout goal and that is to eat whatever I want. By this, I have two main strict things that I will never let a diet plan eliminate: a slurp every day and Qdoba nachos at least once every week. I do not in any way, shape or form worry about what I am eating or drinking other than I have a Gluten sensitivity. Anyways, going back to the workouts here is a list the ones we own and the order I like them. If you also have my views on dieting than definitely go with my top two workouts because they are great and keep you fit without worrying about Calorie intake.

1. P90X2- This is my absolute favorite workout. It really focuses on your core which every woman loves. The creators describe this workout as “the kind of results Pros insist on… not by working harder but working smarter”. I totally agree with this. You bring more focus and attention through your core as you are doing each exercise. Even during the arm work out, you use a stability ball to focus your ab control. For the past 6 months, I have been doing two other workout videos. I just switched back to P90x2 because I am not happy or beach body ready and in only 2 days, I feel so much better. I am assuming I will be down at least 4lbs in my first week with these videos since I know how my body works and what this workout helps be focus on. Set aside about an hour each day for these workouts. It may seem long but do them from beginning to end because they truly work each part of your body throughout the entire video.

Equipment needed for this:
Dumbbells or resistance bands
Pull up bar or resistance band

Optional:
Stability ball (this I also use)
Foam Rollers (great for warmups and stretching)
2 Medicine balls (I do not use)
Power stands
2. P90x- The original P90x video and very great workout for both male and females. My husband prefers this one over my favorite. This is a great workout to lean out and then build your muscles. You definitely get the results you need even without following a strict diet. There is a lot of talking during the videos which is the only annoying thing but once you know the workouts you can either fast forward through it or follow along with the book that comes with it.

Equipment needed for this:
Dumbells or resistance bands
Pull up bar or resistance band (I use the band but connect it to my husband’s pull up bar)

Optional:
Yoga mat (definitely recommended for Yoga)
Medicine ball
Stability ball
power stands

3. p90x3- Only 30 minutes long typically. This is similar to the other two but shorter. At first I thought great less talking and more of a workout but there’s just something missing to me. I think the workouts are great and perfect if you are on a time crunch but again I just don’t see as much of an improvement in my body that I saw with 1 & 2. I definitely recommend this to anyone that only has 30 minutes to work out because you still get something. My only suggestion would be maybe try to add another workout or walk at night.

Equipment needed:
Dumbells or resistance bands
Chin up bar

Optional:
Yoga mat
power stands
4. insanity- Basically 25 minutes of pure core/cardio workout. Great for slimming down but if you want to build muscle you need to still add weights into your workout plan. I love that you slim down from it but has anyone ever seen someone or heard of someone being “skinny fat”? This is someone that’s slender but has that awkward belly or arm jiggles and to me it isn’t attractive. Definitely add some weights to this workout just to tone your muscles. It makes you look a lot better and not anorexic or “skinny fat”. This is a good mix with P90x3 since they are both shorter workouts just mix in the arms, legs, back and chest from p90x3 with each insanity disc.

No equipment is needed

I typically like to use arm or leg weights just to help build and tone.
5. T-25- Also only 25 minutes of a workout but great for your entire body. This is my favorite shortened workout another but the issue I have with it is that it is best to be tone before doing this. It takes longer than the other videos to get to your goal weight because it is a shorter video. Once you reach your goal then these workouts can help keep you there. If you don’t have 25 minutes in your day than you must be crazy busy but i would suggest to you to cut back 25 minutes of sleep to at least fit this in.

Alpha round:
No equipment needed

Optional:
Yoga mat

Beta round:
Equipment needed:
dumbells or resistance bands

Optional:
Yoga mat
chin up bar

6. Beast body- This workout is best for men and ranges between 40-50 minute videos. I’ll be honest, I did 90 days of it and the only thing i realized I got from it is a large booty. I do not like lifting super heavy weights because my ultimate goal is to stay petite and thin. I felt that yes it was great for my husband building muscles but in fact neither of us looked cut from it. If you choose this workout you definitely want to make sure to keep cardio in your workout plan.

Equipment needed:
Dumbells*
Bench or stability ball (we use stability balls)
Pull up bar or resistance band

*Men may also want to use a curling bar

beach body workout

This popular craze with Beach Body is a great way to not only get workouts in at home but skip waiting in line for the gym for a machine, feeling like you are embarrassed to workout in front of people, and even gives you extra time in your day since it requires no driving. I had a gym membership for over 3 years here in Vegas and I only went a handful of times. While I’d like to say most people go to work out, this isn’t so much the case here. People love to socialize, take annoying “selfies”, and size each other up while they are here. Girls typically shower, put on makeup and do their hair before they go to the gym. Come on, if you want to stay in shape then stay at home and try one of these great workouts. If you want to meet someone at the gym then I guess go for it and look stupid in your wedged tennis shoes. I’m not saying it is everyone but I love working out at home. I can do it on my own time and away from those little annoying things people do at the gym. I am definitely a firm believer on Beach Body and I am in no way affiliated with their staff. I just love staying active and it is a perfect workout for me. I’m now challenging myself for the next month to slim down 10lbs and by this I am going back to a strict p90x2 workout regimen. Cross your fingers and hope I get down to my goal weight by one of my best friend’s Bachelorette party in 3 weeks. I will blog back then and let you all know how it goes. Until then, try one of the workouts at home and you will see what the gym doesn’t do for you!

Leave a Reply

